Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

5 second violation

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Basketball Rules and other Basketball topics.

What is a 5 second violation?

5 second violation

There are two different 5 second violation calls in the books. One is applied when a team cannot pass the ball in-bounds within 5 seconds. This results in a loss of possesion. The other 5 second call is made at every level EXCEPT the NBA. When a player is pressured by a defender(within a 3 feet radius) and does not go anywhere, he has 5 seconds to get rid of the ball by either shooting or passing the ball. If a player is dribbling in one spot and is being pressured, the count starts as long as the defender remains within that 3 ft. radius. By picking up his/her dribble, the 5 second count will reset, and he/she has another 5 seconds to get rid of the ball. If a player doesn't get rid of the ball within the count, it is a 5 second violation and results in a turnover. The point of the rule is to avoid stagnation. Nobody wants to see somone hold or dribble the ball for extended periods.



2/22/2007 5:45:58 PM
YangmAN said:

by dribbling/passing...? its against the rules to just hold the ball and do nothing for 5 secs(round about that time)

2/9/2009 7:36:07 PM
Dutch said:

That's one of the stupidest rules I've ever heard.

2/15/2009 10:16:22 AM
Myrtle Beached Whale said:

A totally unnecessary rule when there is a shot clock.

2/15/2009 2:39:06 PM
Brian said:

I disagree. In high school, there is no shot clock, so in theory an inferior team could just hold the ball to shorten the game. In college, they could do a similar thing, but only 35 seconds at a time. It would take away from the integrity of the game without this rule.

1/15/2010 1:01:37 AM
Josh said:

That's why its only if there is a defender...god, you people are daft

2/8/2010 9:50:37 AM
Renee said:

After a made shot, the opposing team has five second to inbound the ball ... and then another 10 to get it across the time line (generally half court)?

2/8/2010 4:47:01 PM
Brian said:

Correct. Once the ball is inbounded, the team has 10 seconds to get it across half court.

2/16/2010 10:33:48 PM
Tony said:

It is a good rule, I used this rule to my advantage in all star where I had my team pass and dribble for over a minute before the other team realized what I was doing. There was no shot clock and by the time they fouled it was 45 seconds left in the game and they were down 9 and could not recover

12/18/2010 9:48:35 PM
Steve said:

I've noticed lately, a team rolls the ball in when taking it out, refs have not been counting, I thought the 5 second count ended when player on the court touches it, shouldn't they be counting the 5 until it's touched?

12/19/2010 11:05:33 PM
Brian said:

First off, this is a different 5 second rule, not the inbound rule. But to your question, which is a good one, the count ends as soon as the ball is inbounded, or in other terms, as soon as the ball is passed into play. If what you were saying was true, then the famous Laettner play wouldn't have happened, because of the time it took the full court pass to reach him, it would've been a 5 second violation. As soon as the ball breaks the inbound line, it's considered in play, even if it may not be touched by a player.

1/12/2011 11:23:53 AM
Dean said:

I think there should have been a 5 second call against Duke in that play because he did not touch it. If the clock does NOT start and the ball is rolled and the referee is counting down as the ball is being rolled is he counting down the 10 seconds to get across half court or the five seconds to inbound the ball? I would say the latter since the clock has NOT started. I have seen the count down even with no pressure on the ball.

3/21/2011 9:59:52 AM
Mark said:

Watching the Texas vs Arizona game last night, Texas got the old "chorrizo". with 12 seconds remaining and Texas w/ a 2 point lead and the ball out of bounds, Joseph (a freshman) attempted to inbound the ball and was called for the 5 second rule. It was the quickest 5 sec call I've ever seen (I'm 50 yrs old). Then the announcer said it was the correct call because in college ball, if a player attempts to call a time out, the time out must be called within 4 seconds, or th ball is turned over to the other team...which is what the official did. Arizona subsequently threw the ball in from the spot of the turnover and drove the hoop, player making the basket, getting fouled and making the free throw to win by 1 point. What's the point of the 5 second rule if in reality, you have 4 seconds to throw the ball in bounds? What are you options after 4 seconds??? That's right, the player's only option is to throw the ball to a defensive player for an automatic turnover, since none of his team mate are open. Please clarify for me, as I am sick at my stomach this morning. Also, on further review, I used the stop watch function on my iPhone 5 times. From the time the player \was handed the ball, to his attempt to call a time out, the slowest time I recorded in my 5 attempts was 3.9 seconds. Texas was absolutely screwed on the call and the game.

-The count on a TV timer was actually 4.76, still fast. The Time-Out rule after 4 seconds was actually changed about 8 yrs ago - so the announcers were incorrect on that one. Tough Break for the Longhorns, but as in any game - one play does not decide it, although they are magnified in the final seconds

~Coach Lok

3/22/2011 11:49:56 AM
Blake said:

They used to have a rule that a time-out was not granted on an inbound play if the ref had 4 seconds or more counted. Is that still a rule?? If not then Texas was hosed in the Arizona game.

A clock was put on the referees count and he called a violation at 4.76 instead of 5. human error - and tough break for Texas
~Coach Lok

12/8/2011 10:18:04 PM
Mo said:

The time does not start on an inbounded play until it is touched. That is why teams roll it; to save time on the clock

3/21/2015 12:32:49 PM
Randy said:

We have a dilemma, in referencing the 5 second rule on an inbounds, the 5 second rule ends when a player throws the ball inbounds here is the dilemma if the ball stays in the back court on the floor and no one touches it the, clock doesn't start how long can the ball stay there? Hypothetical neither the defense nor the offense touches the ball, what is the call?


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Basketball Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Ray Lokar