Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Basketball Rules and other Basketball topics.
You must use your pivot foot to move around with the basketball if you are not dribbling. Think of your pivot foot as having it's toes anchored to the floor. You can spin around or "pivot" on that anchored part of your foot, but you can't slide or lift this foot unless you are passing or shooting. Doing so will be a travelling violation. To establish which foot you can use as your pivot foot, just remember that the first foot to be on the ground when you catch the ball is you pivot. The last foot to be on the ground when you stop dribbling, is your pivot. If you jump up, catch the ball, and land on both feet...you get to choose. Don't slide, lift, or change pivot feet. You will get called for traveling and lose possession of the basketball.
Wrong...you can pick up your pivot foot...ie jump shot, cross over...as long as you dont put it back down while still controlling the ball
The jumpshot part, yes. The crossover, no. If you lift that pivot foot before dribbling it will be a travel.
I just had an arguement with someone over this and I thought just the act of lifting the pivot foot is a travel. Well that rule is only an NBA rule; you can lift up your pivot without returning it to the floor according to NCAA rules.
what about FIBA rules?
FIBA rules are picking up the pivot foot before starting a dribble is a travel, to pass or shoot its a travel if the foot returns to the floor
Darnell actually you can as well in the nba. Section XIV g. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.
When u stop dribbling and take two steps the first foot(the foot with which u took ur first step),not the last foot becomes the pivot foot
If I stop dribbling the ball, pivot on my right foot, then shoot off of my left foot (after picking up my pivot foot) is that a travel? NBA? NCAA?
Do I have to have both feet leave the ground at the same time?
Once your pivot is established, you would have to jump off both feet in that scenario, otherwise it would be a travel
Lifting the pivot foot after ceasing a dribble is *not* a travel. It is a travel when the foot returns to the floor. Look it up, get it right.
This site was very useful as i needed advise and quike as we were doing rules on pivorting in school and i would recomend this site to a friend
Brian #2 is right
Section XIV g. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.