Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

Dribbling Rule

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Basketball Rules and other Basketball topics.

What is a dribble?

Dribbling Rule

A dribble starts when a player throws, taps, or rolls it on the floor and touches it again before it touches another player. The dribble is completed when the player touches the ball simultaneously with both hands or the ball comes to rest in one or both hands. Accidentally losing and then regaining control(fumble),tapping the ball in order to gain control,tapping the ball from the control of another player, blocking the pass and then recovering the ball are NOT considered to be dribbles.



2/13/2009 3:03:50 PM
marsh said:

what if a player is dribbling the ball, loses control, it rolls on the ground, and he picks it back up without taping it to regain his dribble?

2/15/2009 9:37:17 AM
Brian said:

Your dribble ends when you touch it with two hands, so you could continue dribbling, but not by picking it up. You would have to do a quick palm-dribble if it was rolling. You see this happen from time to time in a game. A player comes down on the rolling ball with a quick palm strike, hopefully causing the ball to come off the ground, allowing you to continue dribbling. Otherwise, you'd have to pick it up and again your dribble would be over.

5/19/2010 9:48:29 AM
Ben dover said:

That would be a double dribble + it would be funny.

6/2/2011 10:17:51 PM
Z said:

So if you were to accidentally lose control of the ball and regain it while it is still in mid-air, would it be considered a travel?

1/16/2012 11:06:15 PM
Tim said:

What if I'm dribbling and the ball bounces high as I'm turning to post someone up while dribbling and scoots away from me a bit. I take a few steps back to my previous position to regain the ball and without stopping the dribble I regain control. Is this a travel?
Also, Can I bounce the ball really high [over my head] and then while running next to it, not touch the ball as it bounces with me while we both go down the court? I regain control by dribbling it. What are the calls?

2/16/2012 6:16:26 PM
Pete said:

Player 1 brings the ball down the court and loses his dribble. Player 2, while gaurding him, touches the ball. He does not knock it out. He basically just touches the ball. Player 1 never loses control of the ball. Question: Can player 1 dribble again without penalty?


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Basketball Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Ray Lokar