Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Basketball Terms and other Basketball topics.
A dribble used in the low post involving a two handed, short dribble, usually in line with the middle of your body. A wide base is made with the feet, then a two handed "power dribble" is used.
i usually call it the up and undedr and when u use this move you have to be realy quick about it be a GOOD postman to get around him
2 handed dribble? Am I missing something or will you get called for d-dribble on this?
Good question. Any other time you would. But in the post, on this particular move, it's not.
The power dribble being called a double dribble or not has nothing to do with time or place. As long as you are starting your dribble, you can start out with 1 or 2 hands (check out an inbounds pass as an example, catch the pass with both hands, let it drop, you can still dribble the ball downcourt). A dribble stops when you have both hands on the ball. Add the 2 together and you get the power dribble. I've been trying to answer that question myself recently, and this is what I came up with, since obviously it is done in the NBA/HS/College a dozen times a game.
This tip was not detailed and vague, I don't under stand at all- no offense, sorry if I hurt your feelings...
I got called for a double dribble so don't use this tip
Based on the college rules, first dribble can be one or two hands. The dribble stops when two hands touch the ball. If it is being called a double dribble, show the ref the rule on dribbling. Section 21 Art. 2 Start of dribble does not state one hand or two, Only about tapping ball to court. Art. 4 dribble stops when ball is touched by both hands simultaneously. By rules, you can start dribble with 2 hands.
Like Norm said, a dribble stops when the ball is touched by both hands at the same time. A two-handed power-dribble is not double-dribble because you have to have started a dribble the first time.
Ie. By definition AND name, if I get called for the move, I've technicaly only single-dribbled.